• FREE Video Tip: How to make initial contact

    Sign up now to watch this Scott Ellis video tip plus receive our newsletter full of news, offers, & more.

Notes from the 2011 NWTF Convention, Part I

Shane Hendershot won the Senior Division of the Grand National Turkey Calling Championships Feb. 19 at the National Wild Turkey Federation’s 2011 Convention.

The title is widely considered to be the Super Bowl of turkey calling. Hendershot, of Zanesville, Ohio, also won the Grand Nationals in 2007 and added a World Turkey Calling Championship that year.

On Feb. 17, Hendershot also won the NWTF’s new Head-to-Head contest.

In the Senior Division, Hendershot beat second-place finisher Chris Parrish by three points. Parrish, of Centralia, Mo., won the Grand Nationals in 2000 and 2001. He has finished second nine times. Parrish also won World titles in 1994, 2004 and 2009.

Matt Van Cise, of Brookville, Pa., took third. He won the Grand Nationals in 2005 and 2006, and won World titles in 2000, 2002, 2005 and 2006.

Danny Whitt, of North Carolina, took fourth, and Sadler McGraw, of Alabama, was fifth.

Mark Prudhomme, of Georgetown, S.C., won the Champion of Champions title and also topped the Owl-Hooting Division. Scott Wilhelm, of Chippewa Falls, Wis., took the Friction Division crown, and Doug Benefield, of Georgia, won the Gobbling Division.

Click here to get all the great new turkey hunting gear you’ll need for the Spring 2011 season!

Related Posts