8 Year Son First Bird - Alabama Youth Hunt 2009

How was your last hunt? Let's see!
shootingsports

8 Year Son First Bird - Alabama Youth Hunt 2009

Postby shootingsports » March 19th, 2009, 3:36 pm

On Wednesday, March 11th I asked my 8 year old son if he would like to go turkey hunting with his dad and as a typical 8 year old boys would respond is how long and what time are we going. I replied we will be going on Saturday, March 14th opening 2009 youth day at 5:00 am. My son looked at me and said dad sure, but I can not shoot any of your guns. As a proud father I ran out on Thursday 2 days before the hunt and purchased a youth turkey gun that would fit him. As all of us know how proud we where to get our first gun, but was nerves to shoot the gun once it came down to it. So I patterned the gun with #6 shoot and told him it was his turn, but as a instructor I load the gun with #9 shoot and after about four shoots his nerves had settled and was starting to hitting the target. He replied I'm ready. Friday night rolled around and I told him it was time for bed you would have thought it was Christmas all over he could not sleep. At 4:30 am he awoke me and told me it was time to get ready. He stated dad are we going to be able to see any birds in this rain storm. I looked and grind son have faith your old dad is calling. We arrived at the a ground blind that I have on my property and it was 5:30 am, cold & down pour. My son looked at me and said again dad should we have stayed home, I smiled and said have faith son in your old dad calling. To let you know I have been watching a 5 year old tom prior days and knew how he handled his temperament, because I have hunted him in the pass years and learned what makes him talk. At 6:08 am I rolled out a sweet tree call, we heard no answer at 6:30 am I did a fly down cackle the old boss boy awake in the rain with a loud deep gobble which was in the hardwood bottom over 200 yards from the field. My son eyes got that hunter look as