First Hunt - First Bird !

Your place to talk about anything and everything hunting-related!
Sooner44

First Hunt - First Bird !

Postby Sooner44 » April 16th, 2008, 2:27 pm

Hello !!

Just wanted to drop in and brag a little on my first turkey. This is my first year turkey hunting and I had a blast (even though I hunt alone). I hunted Friday, Saturday and Sunday morning, taking the bird Sun Morn.

I took the turkey at 34 yards through knee high brush, only the head and neck showing above the brush. Considering the head and neck was the only part of the bird visable, I took the shot. Turns out is was an older Jake with a 5" beard and approxoamtely 1/2" spurs. I thought I had a nice Tom at first.
I started out setting decoys in their fly down area, only to find out they roosted in another area overnight. After a few hours, I stashed the decoys and started stalking, listening and trailing the flock. I spotted them in a brushy field about 150 yards out, made my way through the field hiding behind evergreen trees until I got to about 100 yards from them. I set up inside an evergreen (cedar tree) and hit my Power Crystal call softly, I waited about 10 minutes and a tom (Jake) came walking by about 35 yards out, tree limbs were in the way and I didn't have a clear shot. The Jake finally moved into the clear, but was walking a pretty fast pace, I made a clicking noise with my mouth, he heard me, raised his head & turned to look, and I let him have it. Dropped him in his tracks at 34 yards shooting a Rem 870 3" 21" barrel with Win HV 1.75 #5.

Although the bird turned out to be a nice sized jake, and not a real trophy long beard, I was still excited to harvest a nice bird on my first hunt.

My first turkey hunt ended well ! I'm ready for #2 this weekend !!

Sooner

dluders

RE: First Hunt - First Bird !

Postby dluders » April 16th, 2008, 3:01 pm