Getting into Turkey Shape

Your place to talk about anything and everything hunting-related!
Ozarks Hillbilly

Getting into Turkey Shape

Postby Ozarks Hillbilly » February 3rd, 2009, 5:57 am

Just wondered what if anything you guys do to get into or stay in shape for hunting? I used to work construction for a living and stayed in pretty good physical shape. I have had a sit down office job for the last several years and it had made me kind of lazy. After trying to keep up with a twenty something hunting buddy last spring and a short stay in the hospital this past summer I changed my eating habits and started to exercise. I go to our local Y three times a week for some weight training and some cardio exercise. On my off days from the gym when the daylight hours are longer I try to get out and walk or ride a bike. On the weekends I try to get out and walk the country side hunting or scouting.   

greyghost

RE: Getting into Turkey Shape

Postby greyghost » February 3rd, 2009, 7:37 am

Although I have not seen a gym in many years [:o]. I just try and get out in the woods and hump hills [8|] . At work although we have an elevator that goes to the 9th floor, I walk the stairs [&o]. Although I try to watch what I eat, I watch it go from the pastry cabinet to my mouth [:)].

I will push myself a lot. No pain, no gain. Aches and pain, just take the pain [:@].

silvestris

Postby silvestris » February 3rd, 2009, 7:49 am

I have always taken the Ben Lee approach and just did what it took to get my fat butt into a good calling position.
Why be good when you can B-Mobile or Spin & Strut.

thundrchikin

Postby thundrchikin » February 3rd, 2009, 8:10 am

Shape? I always thought ROUND was a shape,that seems to be where I'm headed.I usually try to start walking about mid of Feb. for spring. Fall season I'm usually all right, from all the other types of hunting.
canecreekcalls.com

icdedturkes

Postby icdedturkes » February 3rd, 2009, 10:33 am