New to turkey hunting

Your place to talk about anything and everything hunting-related!
77RANGER

New to turkey hunting

Postby 77RANGER » April 7th, 2009, 10:59 am

HEY Ya'll Im brand new at this turkey hunting but so far its a blast. Been deer hunting all my life. Good buddy is getting me into turkey hunting. Getting o k with slate and box call but can't figure out this dang mouth calls. I shot mossberg 500a with ported barrel and rem. high velocity magnum 3in 5 shot any one recommend good choke. I've been looking at the h s under taker and a comp-n-choke just not sure what size. Look forward to talking to you boys and gals.

dewey

RE: New to turkey hunting

Postby dewey » April 7th, 2009, 11:09 am

Welcome to the forum 77!  Ipersonally don't know anything about chokes as I am pretty new to turkey hunting myself but there are a lot of very knowledgeable people here that will give you some good advice, just give them a little time to respond and you'll be happy with their help.

paboxcall

Postby paboxcall » April 7th, 2009, 11:15 am

ORIGINAL: 77RANGER

HEY Ya'll Im brand new at this turkey hunting but so far its a blast. Been deer hunting all my life. Good buddy is getting me into turkey hunting. Getting o k with slate and box call but can't figure out this dang mouth calls. I shot mossberg 500a with ported barrel and rem. high velocity magnum 3in 5 shot any one recommend good choke. I've been looking at the h s under taker and a comp-n-choke just not sure what size. Look forward to talking to you boys and gals.

Welcome.

I'd spend some time searching the 'shooting' forum, and posting your question above about chokes there -- you may get a better response from the shooting tech crowd that hangs out in that forum.
"So much of this business of hunting turkeys, you stupid it up right at the last.
You do everything right for an hour and a half, and then you sit down here
and there's nothing you can do about it, you made a mistake."
Tom Kelly, [i]Turkey Tales