Need help

Your place to talk about anything and everything hunting-related!
dollarbill300

Need help

Postby dollarbill300 » April 19th, 2013, 9:50 am

I am new to this forum and this is my first year of hunting. I was hoping to get some tips with turkey hunting. I live in south carolina and the season here is only the month of april. I have been out a few times this season with no luck. I did some scouting before the season started and thought I had found some good areas. Turns out I was wrong. I hear gobbling within a short range, but I am having trouble calling them in closer. I use a slate friction call with a wood striker. I stay in one spot until about noon. Any gobbling stops after about 8:30 am. One of my questions is this: do hunters use calls that sound like gobbling, or are those turkeys I am hearing? I have tried sitting close to a small open field, in the woods close to a river, walked up to higher ground, nothing. I have 2 decoys, a tom and a feeding hen. Every time I go, I go to an area that I heard them the time before. The most recent trip, I saw 3 about 250 yards away from me walking through an open field heading towards the woods. When I saw them I started using the slate call. They stopped, looked in my direction with their heads up, and after about a minute they continued into the woods. I could not tell if they were toms or hens. I am completely confused about what to do. One day I was talking to another hunter that was out there about how tough it was and he said "yeah it's tough because the stupid ones have been caught". I thought that was pretty funny. Any help would be greatly appreciated....

rbewilson

Re: Need help

Postby rbewilson » April 19th, 2013, 1:07 pm

It sounds like the gobblers still have hens with them,stay after them and try to get those hens coming your way with some loud calling do some cutts on your calls.And hunt mid-day when the hens go to nest.Good Luck

Cut N Run

Postby Cut N Run » April 19th, 2013, 3:09 pm