Insurance

Your place to talk about anything and everything hunting-related!
WildBill

Insurance

Postby WildBill » July 19th, 2012, 1:48 pm

I've been hunting the same property for 5 years, but the landowner now wants me to have hunting lease insurance. Has anyone used American Hunting Lease Association? I've done some research and it seems to be the best price. It is $175 for 468 acres. Is there anything else I should be asking? There were not any membership fees.

Cut N Run

Re: Insurance

Postby Cut N Run » July 19th, 2012, 8:33 pm

Sorry, I don't have specific lease insurance, so I can't speak on it. I carry a pretty substantial blanket liability insurance policy (mainly because I own some rental property) and I can use it if I ever need to. It is worth protecting yourself and being covered if an odd circumstance happens. Giving up a little money now for insurance beats getting sued for a lot later.

Jim
Luck Counts, good or bad

kygobbler

Postby kygobbler » July 19th, 2012, 8:44 pm

Some thing you might want to check also is your state laws. I just learned that here in KY if you get injured while hunting on someone else's land that the state does provide insurance for you. I havent read all the details yet about it and be willing to bet that it probably sucks but a little is better than nothing.
Is it turkey season yet?

Duke0002

Postby Duke0002 » July 20th, 2012, 9:48 am

WildBill wrote:I've been hunting the same property for 5 years, but the landowner now wants me to have hunting lease insurance. Has anyone used American Hunting Lease Association? I've done some research and it seems to be the best price. It is $175 for 468 acres. Is there anything else I should be asking? There were not any membership fees.

Have you checked with your local general insurance companies. They might have something.

As Jim mentioned, perhaps your home owners/renters insurance could put a special rider on for you.

charlie elk

Postby charlie elk » July 20th, 2012, 10:34 am