frustration thus far!

Your place to talk about anything and everything hunting-related!
bodetis

frustration thus far!

Postby bodetis » April 19th, 2012, 7:19 pm

this is my 4th season of hunting thunder chickens, i have basically learned and had trial by fire hunting experiences on my own. i was so relaxed and confident going into this year after killing 5 birds and having finially called in my first two last year. but let me tell ya i feel like its my first year all over, here in ky has been tough. they will gobble their head off a day break, but hit the ground and never come in, now i know its almost impossible to call one from his hens especially first thing in the morn, but it seems after that they are done, midmorning should be the best but i just cant strike a bird or even hardly seen one after the early morn, the unusual warm weather had then breeding at least a month or more before our season came in , not sure if they are winding down or what,. does any body have suggestions or tricks to get them right off the roost. i do some soft yelps when they are on roost but thats it, i wait til they are down before calling, iv tried a little calling, and loud aggressively calling, nothing works, and cant use decoys the woods are so green this year cant hardly see 20 yards in either direction. thanks guys!

retranger

Re: frustration thus far!

Postby retranger » April 19th, 2012, 7:31 pm

Locating the roast the night before then get in close in am may help. Just don't forget you are turkey hunting and that is what you are doing. Harvesting a bird is only a small part. I experienced the same thing one year and never did take a bird but I had fun trying.
What works for me may not work for you and what works today may not work tomorrow
Doug <- <- ~<- <- <- ~ <-

1Morgan

Postby 1Morgan » April 19th, 2012, 8:01 pm