Kansas, Turkey hunting paradise!

Introduce yourself to the forum. Say hello and give a bit about why you love turkey hunting.
turkeyfreq

Kansas, Turkey hunting paradise!

Postby turkeyfreq » September 16th, 2010, 2:35 pm

Even though this has been my first full year of Turkey hunting. Started last fall turkey hunting, didn't know a whole lot about hunting Turkeys and alot of it was trial and error, alot of error. Just as a little back ground, I am a Soldier stationed on Ft Riley, KS (home of the BIG RED ONE, and thousands of Turkeys). I have been wanting to Turkey hunt for years but never got the oppotunity, always missed the season when home on leave and never had my shotguns with me when moving from base to base and post to post. When I got back from Iraq last year I was bound and determined to go hunting after seeing all the turkeys on this base.

It took me awhile to get my first bird here but I perservered and shot a nice Tom that had a 9 1/2" beard and 1 1/4" spurs. Later in January I was able to call in a nice hen. This Spring I low crawled 75 yards across a field and called in 8 jakes to me from about 100 yards away. I ended up shooting one that had a 5 1/2" beard. Went back out to fill my other tag and let a couple of Jakes go since I already had one Jake tagged for the Spring. I did get a chance to shoot at a couple of Toms with very long beards that snuck in on me when I dozed off with my shotgun across my lap. I had a hard time shouldering my shotgun without being seen in my hasty blind. Then in my excited state shot when the turkeys were a little out of range or I just rushed the shot from my half laying back position. Boy did the fever get me that day.

I have talked to alot of other Soldiers that live in the surrounding area off the post and they too have told me of the abundance of Turkeys here in Kansas. If any of you out there have had a similar experience in Kansas please share.