Choke question?

Guns, ammo, and more! What do you shoot, and why?
Kyturkeyfan

Choke question?

Postby Kyturkeyfan » March 29th, 2011, 3:02 am

I have a carlson 650 in my Benelli super nova. It shoots 3 1/2 win. 2oz #6s great. But my question is would i get better patterns out of say a 655 choke?

retranger

RE: Choke question?

Postby retranger » March 29th, 2011, 3:19 am

I am not a gun expert but if you have a good pattern out to 40 yards, (plenty of pellets in the neck and head) on a turkey target I would leave it alone. I think beyond that range you may not have energy enough to take the bird out. Just my opinion. [8|] Good luck
What works for me may not work for you and what works today may not work tomorrow
Doug <- <- ~<- <- <- ~ <-

Cut N Run

Postby Cut N Run » March 29th, 2011, 3:28 am

Donald, The only way to find out how your gun would perform with a different choke is to try it. I've had differnet loads perform poorly from the same gun that shot another brand very well. I shoot a Benelli SBE II and it just doesn't like Remington shells for some reason. It also shoots 3" shells better than 3.5"s. I have three different turkey chokes (.650, .655, & .643) and each constriction produced a tighter pattern than the one before it. From my experience, a tighter constriction would help tighten your pattern, especially shooting #6s, but that's not always the case. I have seen a tighter choke cause an uneven pattern, particularly with bigger sized shot or harder shot.

A lot depends on your hunting situation too. I hunt a few spots that are heavy cover where too tight a pattern wouldn't work as well as a more open pattern does.

I hope this helps. Good luck this Spring.

Jim
Luck Counts, good or bad

WillowRidgeCalls

Postby WillowRidgeCalls » March 29th, 2011, 4:14 am

Does your Nova have the 24"- 26" - 28" barrel on it?
WillowRidgeCalls
WI Youth & LTH Mentor
Dodge Co. NWTF
Scott

Kyturkeyfan

Postby Kyturkeyfan » March 29th, 2011, 5:16 am