Bent Shotgun Barrel

Guns, ammo, and more! What do you shoot, and why?
tradewater

Bent Shotgun Barrel

Postby tradewater » March 27th, 2011, 3:37 pm

Hello. I have a friend that somehow bent his shotgun barrel. We were shooting the other day and at 40 yds it shoots a good 4 ft to the right. I gave him some sights and they wont even adjust enough to get it on target. Does anyone on the forum know of a way to get a barrel straightened?

retranger

RE: Bent Shotgun Barrel

Postby retranger » March 27th, 2011, 3:52 pm

I'm not an expert but I think you need to take it to a gun smith.
What works for me may not work for you and what works today may not work tomorrow
Doug <- <- ~<- <- <- ~ <-

allaboutshooting

Postby allaboutshooting » March 27th, 2011, 4:51 pm

I would call John Mann at Mann & Son Sporting Goods (Since 1946) at 618.357.2911. He can tell you if that barrel can be salvaged by straightening or if if should be discarded. He's the best gunsmith that I know.

Thanks,
Clark
"If he's out of range, it just means that he has another day and so do you."

retranger

Postby retranger » March 28th, 2011, 2:18 am

What kind of gun is it?
What works for me may not work for you and what works today may not work tomorrow

Steve_In

Postby Steve_In » March 29th, 2011, 4:04 am

Guys shooting round ball in smoothbore muzzle loaders bend their barrels all the time. Some have a jig and can make very precise adjustments. Others just use the fork of a tree. The trick is to not dent it. Remove the choke and look through the barrel at a light source, you should be able to see the bend. If the choke threads are crooked you may just have to get a new barrel. #1 rule of amatrue gunsmithing, don't mess with something that you can't afford to have fixed. The likelyhood of messing something up is inversley porportinal to the that parts avalibilty
Steve, I love "smoked" turkey

retranger

Postby retranger » March 29th, 2011, 4:18 am