new gun and barrel length help

Guns, ammo, and more! What do you shoot, and why?
mmc48

new gun and barrel length help

Postby mmc48 » December 25th, 2008, 2:41 pm

Well I've decided to purchase a dedicated turkey gun for this upcoming spring. I'm a huge Mossberg fan, and I have decided to go with the 835 or the 535 turkey series, particularly because of the good prices. Would you guys suggest one over the other? I would like the ability to shoot 3.5" and 3" shells, so I think both will work with that. Both series also have models with thumb-holes, which I'm interested in also for better handling endurance. I'm also looking at either the 20", 22" (535 only). and 24" barrel lengths. Is the 20" too short? This gun will also double as a home-defense gun. I'm a graduating college student, so it will be in my apartment after I graduate. I'm just torn on the barrel length. 20" would be great for home-defense, but I also want a good-shooting gun up to 50 yards are so in the field also. Any suggestions would be great! Thanks.

allaboutshooting

RE: new gun and barrel length help

Postby allaboutshooting » December 25th, 2008, 4:19 pm

Hey Matthew,

First of all welcome to the T&TH forum. I know you'll enjoy it here. There are so many good folks who are very helpful.

Mossberg can give you a lot of gun for the money. I am not a big fan of 3.5" guns and only recommend them to folks who intend to shoot steel shot for waterfowl and want/need the extra capacity of those shells for the larger steel shot. If that is the case, you'll also need a longer barrel, 28" is best in my experience, to get a full burn with the slower burning powders used in steel shot loads.