Right Hand Shooter,Left Eye Dominant

Guns, ammo, and more! What do you shoot, and why?
tracebusta32

Right Hand Shooter,Left Eye Dominant

Postby tracebusta32 » February 3rd, 2009, 4:16 am

I wanted to get some opinions on how to fix a problem that I didn't know I had.

I hunted turkeys for many years without missing, but the last two years I have missed 5-6 times. I would come out of the woods shaking my head on the ones I missed within 20 yards.

I changed sights, then the gun, then the choke and then the sights again. I had read somewhere about being left eye dominant but shooting right handed and the problems it caused, well this is the category I fall in so I wanted to get some opinions on how to fix this problem.

Thanks in Advance
Malachi 4:5-6
My Brother: WMB

Ozarks Hillbilly

RE: Right Hand Shooter,Left Eye Dominant

Postby Ozarks Hillbilly » February 3rd, 2009, 4:36 am

I am no expert but to me is seems like just taking your gun out and shooting it you should be able to adjust your point of impact to where your looking.

tracebusta32

Postby tracebusta32 » February 3rd, 2009, 5:18 am

I wish it was that simple, but when I do the "test" of pointing my finger at an object and closing my left then my right eye there is a considerable gap between the two.
As I have gotten older my eyes aren't what they used to be.

Ozarks Hillbilly

Postby Ozarks Hillbilly » February 3rd, 2009, 5:26 am

If you take your gun in front of a mirror and point it with your right eye open left eye closed are you looking into your right eye when you sight down the barrel?

allaboutshooting

Postby allaboutshooting » February 3rd, 2009, 5:58 am

Hey David,

One of the "benefits" of aging is that at some point, your dominant eye may change. I have always been a "both eyes open" shooter. A few years ago, I started experiencing the same problem you are having.