benneli choke tube?

Guns, ammo, and more! What do you shoot, and why?
leaflawnandlimb

benneli choke tube?

Postby leaflawnandlimb » April 15th, 2009, 7:37 am

I have a benneli nova w/ a 24" barrel shooting 3-1/2" hevi-shot and I'm having a hard time finding a choke tube that patterns well. Most of the chokes I've found are .655. Is that to tight for the hevi-shot? If you have this gun what works well for you?

allaboutshooting

RE: benneli choke tube?

Postby allaboutshooting » April 15th, 2009, 8:18 am

Hey Ken,

First of all, welcome! It's good to have you here and we look forward to hearing from you. I've been shooting Benelli shotguns since 1991, when I purchased my first SBE. I also have a Nova with a 24" barrel that I shoot on a regular basis.

Benelli barrels have very tight inside diameter bores and usually need a choke tube with exit diameters that are somewhat tighter than other 12 gauge shotguns. We regularly shoot Hevi-Shot products, including Hevi-13 turkey loads through chokes as tight as .640 - .650 with that gun with excellent results.

I recommend the SSX http://allaboutshooting.com/product_info.php?cPath=23&products_id=79
with your gun, especially since it has the 24" barrel like mine.

I would also recommend that you consider trying some of the 3" Hevi-13 "Bronze" shells with 2 oz. of #6 shot with your gun. Many times they pattern better than the 3.5" shells. They cost less and they certainly kick less.

The 3" Winchester Xtended Range Hi-Density shell with 1.75 oz. of #6 shot is also an excellent shell with your gun.

You can also get great patterns with the 3" Winchester HV (Black Shells) with 1.75 oz. of #6 lead shot with that combination.