What's wrong with my rifle ?

Guns, ammo, and more! What do you shoot, and why?
mark hay

What's wrong with my rifle ?

Postby mark hay » February 16th, 2011, 10:03 am

I went to the range last sunday afternoon just to check my 223 . It was off just a mite . So I dialed it over and up . Bullet went 3 times as far as it should have . So I backed it up 2 clicks . The next shot went 2 inches the opposite direction .
 I sat back in the chair and started trying to figure this thing out . I was shooting the same identical hand  loads I have been using for the past 3 years . The scope is 13 years old and has been on several rifles and has never failed me . I am not rough on my shooting irons , plus this rifle spends most of its time in a padded ,hard plastic case .
 I know in the back of my mind that I shouldn't be trying to zero a rifle after working my hindquartes off all week ,,,,I just don't think as sharp as I should when I'm tired .
 I got up to walk out to the target and have a better look . As I walked the thought occured to me , ''could it be my glasses ?'' So , after closer examination of the target I returned to the truck and changed my glasses and grabbed a fresh target and walked another 200 yard round trip to get it stapled up and back to the rifle . I sat there motionless for some time before loading the rifle . When I felt calm I loaded the rifle and settled into the stock and the sandbags . Immediately I could see a difference . There was no distortion to the sight picture . It was clearer and didn't have the wavy effect any more .