Call Frequency - Nooby Question

Share information about your calls and calling methods!
Sooner44

Call Frequency - Nooby Question

Postby Sooner44 » April 20th, 2008, 4:56 pm

I have three different pot calls. Slate, Crystal & Glass.
The sound frequency is different between all surfaces, as would be expected, but I was wondering if one frequency is better than another. The Slate is a low raspy sound that I really don't care that much for, but I've heard the raspy calls can work well. The Crystal is kind of a midrange frequency that sounds really well in my opinion, while the glass call has a much higher frequency / pitch. The glass call works well but sounds a bit too high.
I this normal with these differents surfaces / materials ??
and, is one prefered over the other ? use all three ?

I'm new to turkey hunting, so excuse my questions if they seem a little dumb.

Thanks

Sooner

multibeard

RE: Call Frequency - Nooby Question

Postby multibeard » April 20th, 2008, 8:44 pm

The turkeys will tell you what they prefer by how they respond. Switch around until you find what turns that "particular" bird prefers.

Fan Club

Postby Fan Club » April 21st, 2008, 8:35 pm

Is this normal with these differents surfaces / materials ??

Sooner-

Sounds like you have a good ear and pretty much have the inherent sounds of each surface material pegged.

Taking it one step further, each call will produce a different tone on different areas of the surface. Working toward the edge of a pot will generally produce a higher pitch while the center of the call will yield a lower tone, the call's natural voice. If you rotate the call 90 degrees the pitch will change again as you re-orient the grain of the surface material.

Now add to all of this the material of the striker. And that striker materials can be switched on different calls. You can easily see that a myriad of combinations and tones are available and at your disposal.