Making a Box Call

Share information about your calls and calling methods!
Sooner44

Making a Box Call

Postby Sooner44 » April 28th, 2008, 9:17 pm

Does anyone make their own box call ? I made one today out of oak, sounds okay, but seems like a need a softer slide / handle. What do you guy's that make your box call use for the slide ??

Thanks

Sooner

Fan Club

RE: Making a Box Call

Postby Fan Club » April 29th, 2008, 4:41 am

I don't make my own box calls but I have a fairly extensive collection. I also tune and tweak my own calls and have a pretty good ear as I'm a professional musician as well.

To your point, a call lid made of oak is unusual. I would think the wood is too dense, the grain is too tight, or both. In fact the only all oak box call I have ever seen was fashioned by Amish craftsmen and they prefer to use oak for almost everything. Unfortunately, it was on E-Bay and I didn't get to hear it.

Most of the call lids I have are made of softer wood such as cherry, cedar, sassafrass or butternut. All of these woods are commonly used for box construction as well. Leaning toward denser wood, black walnut and mahogany are commonly used to construct entire boxes (lids and boxes.) To my ear, my best sounding boxes have cedar or cherry paddles and walnut box rails. My field research indicates that the turkeys agree.

I play guitar and spruce or cedar comprise about 99% of all acoustic guitar tops owing to their inherant resonant qualities. This should give you a place to start.

JB
"The joy of living is his, who has the heart to demand it." Teddy Roosevelt

swpatrkyhunter

Postby swpatrkyhunter » April 29th, 2008, 12:47 pm

Ceder will work good for you. Also try coating the underside of your lid with Penn woods call water proofing. That will make a little differance too. Good luck.

Fan Club

Postby Fan Club » April 29th, 2008, 12:58 pm

Also try coating the underside of your lid with Penn woods call water proofing. That will make a little difference too.