A Call went out...to a friend

Share information about your calls and calling methods!
Fargohunt

A Call went out...to a friend

Postby Fargohunt » April 26th, 2010, 10:40 am

I made this call for my friend Larry Leslie (aka Da Hoosh--Hoosier Hunter Custom Calls)

I had just finished writing a long message about this call and my session timed out???

Okay, so for most of my life I have been a custom woodworker as a hobby and after getting swallowed up by turkey hunting last year and once deer season ended I started thinking about the notion to make a few box calls as they seemed to be the most challenging. I always like a challenge. At that same time, I be-friended Larry through the forum and for many reasons, some of which I can't explain, but I am beginning to understand, I thought to make Larry a call. Well, this past weekend I had the pleasure to hunt with Larry in some of his favorite spots in northern Indiana. Even though I didn't tag a bird, the trip was not focused on the hunt and I was able to personally deliver the call I made.

This call is a hand hewn'chiseled out cherry box with curly maple ends, sumac base with cherry sandwiched between. The paddle is padauk with curly maple accents. I will Larry comment on the quality of the sound--I have to tell ya, I was quite nervous making a call for a custom call maker, especially one of his stature.

Larry, I trust you'll do her justice and hope we will all soon see pictures of you, the gobbler and the call. All the best

Scott Witter

Kawboy888

RE: A Call went out...to a friend

Postby Kawboy888 » April 26th, 2010, 11:34 am