How much to call?

Share information about your calls and calling methods!
mrmike

How much to call?

Postby mrmike » May 13th, 2010, 7:34 am

I am a Turkey hunting noob, ,my first year. I went with my brother in law last weekend in KS. We set up, all is good and he starts calling. I mean CALLING!!!! He called nonstop for an hour switching between yelps, cuts, purrs with no more than a 15 second break sometimes. I am by no means a turkey expert but that does not sound right. I have never heard a turkey in the woods yelp, strut, cluck, purr for an hour nonstop. I have listen to cd's , watched DVDs, and read magazines trying to learn more about this sport, but I have never seen anybody call a turkey like he was calling in a coyote. What should I say to him? Was he right or wrong?

Thanks

Mike

paturkeyhunter29

RE: How much to call?

Postby paturkeyhunter29 » May 13th, 2010, 7:56 am

I think turkey calling is a call only as much as you need to kind of sport. Less is more usually.
I do think that calling nonstop and using every sound in the book is way too much. I would tell
him not to call so much because it sounds unnatural and may actually spook birds away from you.
Now onto the other part of this subject: Hunting partners. Not everyone you hunt with whether they
are family, friends, or just a hunting buddy turn out to be someone that fits your style of hunting.
If he won't learn to stop calling so much and so aggressively then learn to call yourself and don't
hunt with him anymore. A good hunting partner can make the difference between looking forward
to the hunt or dreading it. Having a partner that knows what to do and when and how to do it...that
listens to what you say and one that can shoot is critical to enjoying the hunt with them.
Love to hear the turkeys talk!

Everyday Hunter

Postby Everyday Hunter » May 13th, 2010, 8:09 am

MrMike:
Welcome to the T&TH message boards. I've learned a lot here, and you can, too.