Rookie Advice

Ask questions of and offer advice to fellow turkey hunters
P12483

Rookie Advice

Postby P12483 » March 29th, 2012, 10:34 am

So I am completely new to turkey hunting. I live in Central Florida so will be hunting the Osceola on public land.I am completely internet taught. I need some pointers on what to look for what how long to stay put. So far I've hunted twice once at Bull Creek WMA and another at Green Swamp WMA. Both are mostly scrubs with some mixed hardwoods here and there. I have yet to see or even hear anything. I have seen plenty of tracks indicating turkeys are moving around the area. I had found what i believed to be a good spot where 4 trails converged and saw some tracks. To me this seemed like a good spot for an ambush. We sat on that area for about 45 minutes calling prob every few minutes. From what i've read we called way to much. I was not able to do any prehunt scouting and have no idea where they are roosting. Is it imperative that i find the roosting spot? Am i most likley to find this in the swampy areas of the WMA? I have been setting up decoys and been using a box call. Am i best to just walk trails all day and wait to hear them? Or is it best to find an area and sit on it for several hours? Any information would be helpful.

Peter

WillowRidgeCalls

Re: Rookie Advice

Postby WillowRidgeCalls » March 29th, 2012, 11:51 am