Need help with a tough bird!!

Ask questions of and offer advice to fellow turkey hunters
Chris521

Need help with a tough bird!!

Postby Chris521 » April 21st, 2009, 8:29 am

Hello to everyone, I'm new to this site and new to turkey hunting.  This is my first year turkey hunting and I need some advice.  I've been practicing my calls for 1 year now, and have them down pat.  Here is the situation.

I'm hunting on private land that is right next to public land, so I know the bird I'm after is pressured by other hunters.  I get into my setup well before first light, and set up my feeding hen decoys.  I'm hunting in a corn field that is right next to a large river.  I've scounted where the bird roost and every morning he flies down to the corn field where he feeds at.  Before he flies down, I give a couple of soft yelps and purrs.  This seems to get him hot and he flies down to check out my decoys.  Just as the bird works within 70 yards of me, a boss hen flies across the river and lands right in front of the tom.  When she does this she looks as if she is going to challenge my decoys, but doesn't.  I still continue to call to the tom, who is answering me back.  The boss hen never lets the tom fully committ to my decoys, she always intercepts him and flies down in front of him at about 70 yards from my decoys.

The boss hen has done this to me 3 times now, now matter where I set up in the field.  I'm thinking that the boss hen is feeling challenged by my decoys, but she always leads the tom away in the opposite direction of my decoys.

Any advice would be helpful.

SamuraiTater

RE: Need help with a tough bird!!

Postby SamuraiTater » April 21st, 2009, 9:20 am