Tips on hunting without roosting.

Ask questions of and offer advice to fellow turkey hunters
Allegan Bowhunter

Tips on hunting without roosting.

Postby Allegan Bowhunter » February 7th, 2010, 9:36 pm

Hey guys,

Was hoping you could help me with something.  I have done some searching/reading and am unable to find any answers.

I work evenings and normally (on work nights) am not able to get into the woods to roost birds for a morning hunt. 

What can I do to increase my chances of finding the birds in the morning?  I am new to seriously hunting turkeys not just wandering hoping to find one.  I hope to learn the patterns as much as I can once winter breaks.

I will me mainly on public land in SW Michigan.

Thanks in advance for your help.

JC

Duke0002

RE: Tips on hunting without roosting.

Postby Duke0002 » February 8th, 2010, 4:18 am

JC,    During the day, walk the area to find possible roosts.  Locate droppings, feathers, etc.  Then you have a general idea where they might be roosting.  Locate similar areas -similar landscape, trees.  These might hold roosting birds as well.  Even thought you cannot pinpoint roosts the night before you hunt,  you've got something to go by. 

With that general idea in mind, during the day try to observe any travel routes to strutting zones, feeding areas, or any other places they may spend their daylight hours.

During the day when hunting, listen for gobbles and hen talk, then move toward the area and set up appropriately.  Lot's of birds are taken this way.  You might not take a bird immediately after fly down, but you'll have fun scheming and calling.

Bobbyparks

Postby Bobbyparks » February 8th, 2010, 4:54 am

I agree with Duke0002 that it will come down to scouting and figuring out areas birds are using .

This includes feeding, strutting, and dusting to have an idea where to start.

Where I hunt it'd be kind of hard to find roosting locations unless you just lucked into them depending on the terrain you're hunting.